How to Memorialize Your Loved One

By Top Funeral Home - 10/7/2019

Top Funeral HomeLosing someone you love is never easy. While you may be dealing with a multitude of emotions, one thing you'll want to do is memorialize your lost loved one. But, what is the right way to do that? There isn't a specific way that is right or wrong when it comes to memorializing your loved one. The only thing that matters is that you do what you feel is right.

David Levy, Funeral Director of Epstein Memorial Chapel, confirms that the number and variety of ways to memorialize your loved one has never been greater. "It is one of the ways the funeral industry has evolved to benefit the consumer." David believes that customization has never been more accessible due to the advances in technology and that people can do almost anything alongside the guidance of their funeral director.

With the endless ways you can go about your memorial, we have some options we would like to share with you to give you a nice starting point. We hope that our suggestions here at Top Funeral Home can help you through this tough process.


Healthy Ways to Mourn Your Loss

By Top Funeral Home - 9/19/2019

Top Funeral HomeLosing someone you love is never easy. There are many different ways one can go about mourning, and each person will have their unique way to do it. However, it's important that the way you mourn is not harmful to yourself or to your health. Mourning is an important part of the grieving process, as long as it is done in a healthy way.

Accept Your Feelings
A lot of people who are dealing with loss will try to ignore their feelings. They want to push away all feelings they're having because they don't want to deal with them. These individuals usually think that if they ignore their feelings, that they will just go away - but this isn't true. If you ignore your feelings of grief, they will not go away but only get pushed away until later. If you don't allow yourself to mourn after your loss, your mourning process will likely be longer and more painful. Once you accept your feelings, you will be able to move forward with your mourning process and start to feel better sooner.


How to Deal with Losing a Parent

By Top Funeral Home 8/2/2019

Top Funeral HomeNo matter how long our parents may live, we often feel that we wanted to spend more time with them and their death came too soon. Just because death is the natural order of things, it does not diminish the sense of loss we feel when it happens.

The magnitude of this loss can take you by surprise. Because many people are unsure of how to handle the unfortunate tragedy of losing a parent, our team at Top Funeral Home would like to offer some suggestions for coping.


5 Ways to Deal with Grief

By Top Funeral Home - 7/19/2019

Top Funeral HomeGrieving the loss of a loved one is a challenge like no other. When a death takes place, you are bound to experience a wide range of emotions and feelings, even if the death was expected. You may be familiar with the five stages of grief, but the grieving process is different for everyone. These five stages of loss do not necessarily occur in any specific order but you can expect to experience denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance as a part of the framework to learn how to live without the one you have lost.

Our team at Top Funeral Home has some suggestions to help you on your journey to acceptance:

Understand That Grief is Normal. Understanding that grief is a normal response to death is an extremely important part of the grieving process. Accepting your feelings of grief is a key strategy when we grieve.